Board of Trustees

The Trustee Board of the Union exists to ensure the Union is legally and financially sound and has a robust strategic direction. The majority of the Board is elected directly by you, but we also have a number of External Trustees, appointed by the Executive Council who give expertise and support to the Board, Staff and Officers.


The Board meets every two months and considers such matters as the Union’s finances and budget, HR procedures and policies, strategic planning and staffing.


The Board Members are:



Haris Rashid  – President & Chair of Trustee Board


Sabbatical Officer Trustees

Catriona Cairns  – VP Education

Emma Moriarty  – VP Welfare & Community


Student Trustees

Edward Craig

Lucy Armstrong

Gemma Sparkes


External Trustees

Sheila Coleman

Cate Murphy

Gareth Dowling

Justine Dyson 

Powered by



Ensuring the best student experience; inspiring success and positive change


Registered Charity Number: 1150387